Recipe: I Can’t Believe it’s not Butter Chicken

Sometimes all a girl needs is a big bowl of butter chicken and a garlic nann bread! I am an absolute wuss when it comes to spices so butter chicken is virtually the only Indian dish I can eat – and I love it! Of course you also have to get a garlic nann to soak up the sauce!

It takes me back to my days at school when we would pop over to the mall for a butter chicken and nann bread – yummm!

Unfortunately like many foods that taste so dam delicious they don’t do such great things for your health. Don’t get me wrong there are still days when I go out and get a butter chicken from the Indian takeaways around the corner but sometimes it’s nice to be able to make your own more health conscious version.

The Michelle Bridges I can’t believe it’s not butter chicken ticks all the boxes! My boyfriend plays AFL so dinner without carbs is a foreign concept to him. Unfortunately as much as I would love to digest as many carbs as he does and still have rock hard abs, I just don’t burn it off. This recipe is perfect for us as the lentils mean it’s filling enough for me on it’s own but I can also cook up some rice to make sure the carb man is satisfied!

When I’m feeling a bit naughty I substitute the poppadom’s for garlic nann. Ah who am I kidding I swap it for garlic nann every time! Bread and garlic – the way to my heart! ❤

It’s also a great recipe to double or triple and have in the freezer when you can’t be bothered cooking or are sick of sandwich’s for lunch!

Give it a go and let me know what you think 🙂

Ingredients

  • 1 medium onion (89g)
  • 200g canned chopped tomatoes
  • 200g raw, lean, diced chicken breast
  • 1 tablespoon Tandoori Paste (15g)
  • 80g canned lentils, rinsed and drained
  • ¼ cup light cream (65g)
  • Olive oil spray
  • 4 medium Pappadams
  • ¼ liquid vegetable stock (64g)

Method

  • Spray a non-stick frying pan with olive oil spray and heat over medium-low heat.
  • Add the onion and cook for 5 minutes or until soft.
  • Increase the heat to medium-high and add the chicken.  Stir often until lightly golden.
  • Add tandoori paste and stir until fragrant (about 1 minute)
  • Add the stock, tomatoes and lentils and bring to the boil.
  • Reduce heat and simmer for 30 minutes or until lentils soften and sauce thickens.
  • Stir in the cream and cook until heated through (about 1 minute)
  • Arrange pappadams on the edge of a dinner plate and cook in the microwave until puffed up (about 1 minute).

Leave a comment